Go Ask Alice…

I had been told to read this book forever by friends so I finally gave it a crack and absolutely devoured it. I’ve never actually read a book based off of a real girl’s diary (I was never a fan of Bridget Jones or Anne Frank), but this one was different. Her struggles and decisions at such a young age resonated with me emotionally and I really connected. However, the end, after her last entry absolutely broke my heart I almost cried.
I had actually connected to this girl through her thoughts in her journal and I had felt the weight of the hardest times, and the joy in the lightest times and in the end initially my heart was happy at her last entry. I really thought about it deeply. I myself used to journal religiously every day when I was younger, but as I grew up I began confiding in real people, just as she sets out to do as well. But with the bitter end and never knowing whether it was an accidental OD or premeditated, it left me fucked up I’m not gonna lie.
I still have my battles with drugs here and there, never to that extent (green is good, that’s all) but to think of a girl so young struggling so severely with drugs and the pressure of her peers so much is heart breaking. To read about young children having drugs pushed onto them at such a young age or threatening to drug someone without their knowledge is really fucked up and heart breaking.

Bottom line: One of the best books I’ve ever read. 100% would recommend to anyone looking for an intense, beautiful, and somewhat tragic read.

Leave a Reply

